iCloud account can be a headache if not understood properly. Average users fail to comprehend that some data are not physically shown in their iCloud account. For example, your music files are not visible in iCloud, and therefore, users wonder where the music files are.
But there is a more dangerous situation users face while syncing their iPhones with iCloud. It has been seen that many users lost important data when they change, remove or edit accounts. If you have encountered any such situation while syncing your iPhone with iCloud, you should read further.
Note that users should be extra careful while connecting iPhone or iPad with iTunes and iCloud. Of late, there have been a lot of errors while connecting device with iTunes. To name a few, iPhone users face iTunes error 4014/4013, error 14, error 3194, cannot connect to iTunes Store etc.
Let me come back to the issue of deleting or changing iCloud account on iPhone/iPad without losing data. The solution is simple; in just two steps, you are done with the changing or deleting your iCloud account on iPhone/iPad. Remove iCloud account from iOS device and then log back in with a new account.
But wait! On the face of it, this sounds a cakewalk. But beware of data merging, which is a greater threat than data loss. As a matter of fact, data never gets lost while you are changing your iCloud account. The real problem is when the data gets merged in the process of changing or deleting iCloud account. So now let’s check how you can change or delete your iCloud account on iPhone or iPad without sacrificing your data.
How-to Delete/Change iCloud Account on iPhone or iPad without Losing Data
Step #1: Launch Settings app on iPhone/iPad.
Step #2: Tap iCloud.
Step #3: Scroll down and tap on ‘Sign Out’.
Step #4: You will be asked to confirm your action of signing out.
Step #5: Now you can see two options swiped up from the bottom of your iPhone: Keep on My iPhone and Delete from My iPhone.
Step #6: You can select Keep on My iPhone if you want to keep your data on your iPhone.
Step #7: If you don’t want to keep data on your iPhone, select the option ‘Delete from My iPhone’.
Now go back to Settings → iCloud and add a new account. Here, you will be offered an option to merge iCloud data for services you have enabled.
Note that when you merge the data, old data stored on your iPhone will be synced to the new iCloud account you have added last.
Go ahead and change or delete your iCloud account on iOS device. This action will stop notifications, photo syncs etc. iCloud is the best place to store all your data like Contacts, Calendars, Music, Reminders, Notes and more. You can also store photos there. Every Apple ID gets 5 GB of free data space, and once the space is consumed, you can buy extra space to store your extra data on cloud.