In its official statement, Facebook said, A secret conversation in Messenger is encrypted end-to-end, which means the messages are intended just for you and the other person—not anyone else, including us. Keep in mind that the person you’re messaging could choose to share the conversation with others (ex: a screenshot). Both you and the other person in the secret conversation have a device key that you can use to verify that the messages are end-to-end encrypted. So here in this tutorial, we are going to show you how you can start a secret conversation on Facebook Messenger in iPhone and Android.
In a digital age, when all your communication is likely to be traced & recorded, it is a great challenge for any user to keep anything hush-hush. This makes end-to-end encryption all the more necessary. Facebook now offers to a facility using which you can encrypt your conversation that happens on Facebook Messenger app.
It is super easy to encrypt your Facebook messages and have a Secret Conversation on your iOS or Android smartphone. Note that this facility is not available on web-based Facebook or messenger.com.
How to Use Secret Conversation on Facebook Messenger
- How to Enable Secret Conversation in Facebook Messenger
- How to Start a Secret Conversations on Facebook Messenger in iPhone and Android Phone
- How to Delete all Secret Conversation Messages
How to Enable Secret Conversation in Facebook Messenger
Step #1: Open Facebook Messenger App on your smartphone.
Step #2: Tap on Me tab from the bottom right corner or profile photo from the top left corner.
Step #3: Tap on Secret Conversation.
Step #4: Toggle on Secret Conversation Switch to start using secret conversation with your friend.
Now, you will immediately receive a popup message saying “This will be the only device you can use to send and receive encrypted messages”.
Step #5: Here you need to tap turn on.
Note: When you turn on Secret Conversations in Messenger on one device, it will automatically close all secret messages on your other devices.
When you turn off secret conversations, all your existing secret conversation will remain on the device until you delete it, but you won’t be able to have a new secret conversation or send or receive messages.
How to Start a Secret Conversations on Facebook Messenger in iPhone and Android Phone.
Step #1: Launch Facebook Messenger app on your device.
Step #2: If you are not on Home screen, tap on Home button.
Step #3: Tap on new message icon from the top right corner.
Step #4: Now you can see the Secret option on the top right corner.
Step #5: Tap on that Secret button.
Step #6: Select any contact from the list to start a Secret conversation on this messenger app.
Step #7: A pop-up will appear on the screen asking you to make the default device. Tap on Make Default.
You can also see a timer icon on the bottom right corner of your phone’s screen. This feature allows you to choose the duration for which your secret conversation will remain live; after the chosen time, the conversation will be deleted. Once your message is seen by your contact, it will disappear after the selected duration. For example, if you have chosen 1 minute from the timer, your message will disappear 60 seconds after it is seen by your contact.
How to Delete all Secret Conversation Messages
Step #1: Tap on Me tab or tap on profile photo from home tab in Facebook Messenger App.
Step #2: Tap on Secret Conversation.
Step #3: Now, tap on delete secret conversation.
Step #4: Next, tap on delete once again to confirm your action.
What can you send in this secret conversation?
You can send messages, pictures, and stickers in your secret conversation. Note that you can also send group messages, GIFs, videos, voice or video calling or payments through secret conversations.
Also, note that this secret conversation is encrypted end-to-end, this means even Facebook cannot know what conversation took place between you and your contacts. However, if the other person, with whom you are chatting, decides to share the conversation, you can’t help. He or she may take a screenshot of your conversation and share it with anybody.
The digital world offers so many facilities to communicate fast, but we all know how vulnerable the platforms are. We have the recent examples of Wikileaks and Edward Snowden. Hence, prevention is better than cure; you should be vigilant of such traps. Use a robust chat client that gives you superior security.
- How to Recover Deleted Facebook Messages on iPhone and Android
- How to Download Facebook Data
- How to know who Rejected your Facebook Friend Request
- How to Add Contacts in Facebook Messenger on iPhone and Android
This new feature can win back many users, who began to use newly launched Google Allo and WhatsApp to communicate. Hope that you like this new feature on Messenger app. Share your feedback with us on Facebook, Twitter and Google Plus.