This tutorial tells you how you can reset and restore a Mac to factory settings. The process of resetting your iMac Pro, MacBook Pro, MacBook Air and Mac Mini to factory settings includes erasing the Mac’s hard drive and reinstalling macOS system software on your computer. This means all your data will be removed from your Mac and it becomes a fresh peace as if you had brought it directly from Apple factory. This is why it is called factory reset. So here is how to reset Mac to factory settings.

The method to factory reset and restore your Mac can be employed on iMac Pro, MacBook Pro, MacBook Air and Mac Mini. Just consider one thing: your Mac should be running recently released macOS, which has recovery mode support.

How to Reset Mac to Factory Settings

IMPORTANT: The process will erase all Mac data, and therefore you are advised to backup (and then restore) Mac with Time Machine. Remember, your Mac will be formatted and no data, files, documents or anything else will remain there inside your Mac.

How to Reset Mac to Factory Settings (This Method also works with iMac Pro, MacBook Pro, MacBook Air and Mac Mini)

Step #1: First off, reboot your Mac and when you listen to that chime, hold down the COMMAND + R keys at the same time to boot into Recovery Mode.

Step #2: When your Mac is in Recovery Mode and shows macOS Utilities on screen, click on Disk Utility option.

Step #3: Now click on ‘Macintosh HD’ (if you have given other name, click on that) and click on ‘Erase’ button from the top.

Step #4: Next, you need to select a name for the erased drive; for example ‘Macintosh HD’ and then click on the drop-down menu next to ‘Format’ and select “Mac OS Extended (Journaled)”.

Step #5: Then, click on ‘Erase’ button to wipe your Mac completely.

Step #6: When everything is erased on your Mac, choose quit disk utility from the disk utility drop-down menu.

How to Reinstall a Fresh MacOS

When you perform factory reset on your Mac, your Mac is ready for sale. But before you sell it, you need to reinstall a clean Mac operating system. Hope you are already in Utilities windows after erasing your Mac; if you are not there, restart your Mac and press and hold Command and R simultaneously until Apple logo appears on your Mac.

IMPORTANT: Your Mac must be connected with Internet to verify the software. You will be prompted to verify software during installation.

Step #1: Switch your Mac ON; or restart it.

Step #2: Press and hold Command and R keys simultaneously immediately after your restart Mac. Keep holding the keys until your Mac completes loading and you see macOS Utilities window.

Step #3: Next, you need to click on Reinstall macOS (Reinstall OS X wherever applicable); this is to reinstall the operating system that was default in your Mac.

Step #4: Now click on Continue.

Step #5: Choose your hard drive (“Macintosh HD” or the name you have given), when you are asked to choose your disk.

Step #6: Here, click on Install to install the OS that came with your Mac. Once the installation process is finished, your Mac will restart.

Step #7: After the installation is finished, press and hold Command and Q.

Note that you are not supposed to follow setup instructions; your new owner will take care of this.

Step #8: Finally, click on Shut Down to turn your Mac off.

Are you Resetting MacBook Pro with Touch Bar to Factory Settings?

If you have followed above mentioned steps to reset Mac to factory settings, the data stored in Touch Bar of MacBook Pro will be erased. But many Mac users employ some third-party tool to erase Mac or they use Target Disk mode to erase computer. In this case, you need to follow some more steps to make sure that Touch Bar information is removed.

Step #1: Power on or restart your MacBook Pro.

Step #2: Press and hold Command and R keys simultaneously after you restart your Mac. Keep holding the keys until your Mac completes the loading and you see macOS Utilities window.

Step #3: Now click on Utilities from the Menu bar on MacBook Pro. You can see this in the top left portion of your Mac screen.

Step #4: Next, you need to click on Terminal from the drop-down Utilities menu.

Step #5: Then enter the below-mentioned command in Terminal window:

xartutil --erase-all

Step #6: Hit Return key.

Step #7: Type Yes when you are prompted to confirm.

Step #8: Now click on Terminal in the Menu bar.

Step #9: Finally, click on Quit Terminal.

All your data from Touch Bar will be erased.

That’s it!

Are Resetting of Mac and Reinstallation of System Software the Same?

No, both procedures are different from each other. When you go for the factory reset of Mac, your computer is wiped out completely and all your data will be deleted, and then you have to reinstall fresh Mac OS X system software on your Mac. While reinstalling OS X system software doesn’t format your computer from scratch; and this will retain your files and apps and other user data, unlike factory reset which removes everything from your Mac and you have to start afresh.

Also Read:

Want to share your experience? Send in your feedback on our FacebookTwitter and Google Plus. pages. You can leave your comments in the comment section below.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here